Choosing to Serve the Lord

As some of you may (or may not) be aware I have happily chosen to prepare and serve a full time mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

If you don’t know what a mission is…
It is where a young man or  young woman chooses for the church to send them anywhere in the world (that the church is allowed to send us by law)  a person will serve anywhere from a period of 18 months (females) to 24 months (males).
On a mission we may learn a new language and a new culture. In our area we are sent to serve, we teach others about the gospel and invite the people to learn about our Heavenly Father and his son Jesus Christ. We invite them to learn about Heavenly father’s plan for us, about his love for them. We invite them to learn about the church and the teachings of  our Heavenly Father. We serve the people in the community however we are able.
We give up our personal lives, our jobs, family, friends, sports, study, and relationships. To spread the love of our Heavenly Father. To love others and serve them just as Christ once did.

This is not something my church makes me do. This is not something I have no choice in. I save and invest my money to go on a mission. I choose to do this, and why?
Because I love the Lord and I love his gospel. Because I love the people and want them to know like I do of their loving Father in Heaven. I want to see them blessed and happy. I want them to find  joy in an eternal family, in the knowledge that there is more than just this world.

So with that being said, My application to serve has been sent in. I am waiting at home to find out where the Lord would have me be his hands for a year and a half of my life. I am preparing and studying to know more than I currently do.
Preparing to enter the Lord’s house in a week.
I am beyond excited, and a little nervous!

I hope you are all well,
sister p-t

3 thoughts on “Choosing to Serve the Lord

Leave a Reply

