It’s Raining, It’s Pouring …

Happy Monday!!!

I hope this email finds you well, and rested.

As for myself, this past week has been.. well wet.

But it has been good.

On Monday We had a YSA Family home evening, typically only two of us were there with our YSA parents. we Played a game out of the Friend magazine about the Apostles. Turns out all of us sucked at placing them correctly. So I think I have some study to do.

20160913_105710

Obligatory Pre-Run Selfie

Tuesday is the pouring down with rain all day. So after cleaning the house and doing a little study I headed out on an 11km (6.8 miles)  Run around the River. May have got just a little wet. Spent the rest of the day doing the mundane things of life. cleaning, cooking, feeling a little out of place hahaha Of course looking after some of the animals in the weather is always fun. I got a letter from a good friend serving in the Australia Sydney North Mission, Longest letter I have yet received ( Brown Johnny Bravo, Thanks a Bunch)

Wednesday I hit the Gym for the Morning, always a great start to the day. I love listening to conference talks whilst there. I don’t have to listen to the stuff playing on the radio. Plus it is a great time to think… may occasionally lose count of my reps.  I then was blessed to have a great phone call with an RM i served with in the New Zealand Wellington Mission. I made some delicious Protein Pancakes, will a home made blueberry sauce. I also made a small loaf of banana bread, just free form. Turned out great. I packed this as dinner for at Institute.

Institute was way better this week. I hung out with a Girl from my YSA before hand for a little bit, then we had Class. The group I was slightly disappointed in the week before walked in 30 minutes late. -deep breaths- I don’t handle people disrespecting our Teachers well. But it was a great lesson. D&C 25, discussing about how we can apply the things the Lord asks of Emma Smith into our own lives.

Thursday We had a break in the rain, so I headed out for a little day hike in waikanae.. may have got a little Lost… what is really kind of sad because the trail is literally right beside the primary school i went to for 8 years. Spent a bit of time with Mumma at the Gym office, introducing myself to people.  I also worked on my lesson for YSA on sunday

Friday was literally non stop heavy rain all day, a few small land slides along some of the tracks around the property. . what is causing us to only be able to lead one horse at a time. I literally spent most of the day hiding inside doing a deeper clean, studies, and working on fixing my mission blog (who knows how my mum did some of these things) Also during my night time planning for saturday I found out we had a ysa activity in the evening.. so my daily planning looked like this
“The nerve of those Whos. Inviting me down there – and on such short notice. Even if I wanted to go my schedule wouldn’t allow it.
Four o’clock, wallow in self pity;
4:30, stare into the abyss;
5:00, solve world hunger, tell no one.
5:30, jazzercize.
6:30, dinner with me. I can’t cancel that again.
7:00, wrestle with my self-loathing; I’m booked.
Of course, if I bump the loathing to 9 I could still be done in time to lay in bed, stare at the ceiling and slip slowly into madness. But what would I wear?”

(That was for you sister Spainhower)

 
Saturday:
Cleaning, studies, Hit the Gym again.

Ran some errands, Did a few other mundane life type things, including breathing. made home made Pizzas with Home made bases. SO GOOD! Followed by the YSA activity… and guess what?!?!? 3 of us went!!! we played some card games and watched some rugby.

Sunday:
Well this is the Best day of the week. We had church, with some lovely speakers talking about the Atonement… seriously who doesn’t love a sacrament meeting that is entirely Atonement focused.
YSA lesson went well. we discussed Chapters 36-39 In Alma.. so Alma talking to his sons.What happens when you teach YSA Then applying it to ourselves so we can not only follow the example of those righteous influences, But also become as it says in 1 Timothy 4:12 an example of the believers .. in ALL things. Because we all know that  EXAMPLE IS OUR GREATEST MESSAGE.
  Relief society was all about honesty…A wonderful Principle!
After Church we had a ward lunch, that is always nice. it is freezing and wet so there was lots of Soup.. mm Soup.
we then came home, and for the first time in i think forever i lay down and fell asleep for a bit reading my scriptures.. Now Elders and Sister this is why on page 22 in Preach My gospel… under the Heading “Search, Ponder, and remember”
The second bullet point says “Study at a desk where you can write (not lying down or sitting on your bed), organize your study materials, and remain alert.
I have corrected myself and will not do that again. I then started some letters to people.. planned when would be best to have the Elder and their investigators up for a cottage evening. The sat down with My wonderful parents and made them watch Ephraim’s Rescue… too many tears shed, not enough tissues in this house.

Ultimately this Week I’ve been Pondering a few scriptures in one concept.
moses 1:39, 2 Nephi 2: 25, 1 Nephi 3:7, Mosiah 18:8-10, Mosiah 2:17, D&C 18 : 10-16 (well actually the whole section)

People keep asking me why i love helping others and why i love serving
(i’ve typed this out once already to only lose the internet and lose the best paragraph of this email, so this may not be anywhere near is good)
So ultimately it is simple, God loves us, his entire focus is to help us progress and be happy. Because of this He gives us commandments to be safe and to feel joy. He gives us no commandments that we cannot achieve. We even promise to keep the commandment of strengthening one another and serving at baptism. As we align our will with God’s will. My purpose too becomes to help others receive immortality and eternal life in complete happiness. Of course as we act upon this we feel a part of God’s love for the person we serve, a part of His love for us, and pure Joy. Simple.
We are not here to do this alone.

I am just so thankful to have a father in heaven who love us enough to want to see us progress. Who blesses us with more joy and happiness than we can imagine. who gives us Commandments for our protection and happiness.
I know He lives, i feel his presence in my life constantly. Every single day i grow even more thankful for this knowledge.

I pray for you daily. please let me know if i can help in anyway.

All my love and prayers,
Sister Priston-Turner
One thought on “It’s Raining, It’s Pouring …

  1. Soo cool!! 😀 ❤ It's awesome you're keeping up your blog! You have such a way with words. Keep it coming! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

