20167102

Well Hello Wonderful!!

It has been a while and I apologize for that. I have been working on some more serious and focused posts than just my mind’s ramblings.
However let’s take some time to talk, or in my case to ramble and express different things I have been pondering as of late.

But lets start with the end.
The End of 2016 has come with an overload of life changing moments, I am sure this is not exclusive to just me. It has been one roller coaster of a year . For many it seems to have been a year they wish they could forget, yet a year they will forever remember.
However I wish not to dwell on the heartbreaks that have been experienced in 2016, because I am not here to dwell upon moments, but to learn from them. To allow those memories empower me to make the most of the future, to carry these lessons into the future to aid those around me.
This year was filled with one of the greatest blessings, the opportunity to serve The Lord as a full time missionary. Eight months out of twelve was focused on nothing but this. On helping others and on giving all that I could to be a better aid to them, relying on the Lord to make more of me, and more of my efforts than I could ever imagine possible alone. This in itself was a wonderful marvelous high, accompanied with some lows. overall when I look at this time. A cascade of people, moments, lessons, and miracles flood into my mind and spirit. Everything and Every person I love so dearly. like little fish fighting a current, glimpses of sorrow and trying moments are visible among all that I hold dear. Enough to remember, to remind me, to strengthen me, and to make the Good all the sweeter.  The finishing of the mission truly felt like heartbreak. A piece of my heart will remain in Australia, with the people who have impacted me for good, and whom I hope I was able to serve to the best of my abilities. This was the hardest ‘goodbye’
However this ending was truly a beginning of the Rest of my Life. Life didn’t end upon finishing a mission, it was truly only just starting to begin.
I had to adjust back to the normal world. But with this my focus has been changed. Certain things have become less important whilst others have continued to grow in my heart as focuses for the Future. Decisions to be made, plans to be started and put in order, things to be done.
I was blessed to then see my dear friend and beloved Companion from the mission be sealed for time and all eternity to her wonderful Husband. Now if this isn’t the definition of beginning I don’t know what is. What a beautiful moment it was to see her on the day she started Her new life with her Husband.
Christmas came and went, bustling family moments, laughter, food, and music.
I’ve been blessed to get to know people I could have never imagined would be such a part of my life.
2016 has been a year for the books and I hope that from now on things continue to strive onward and upwards. Because although I leave a lot in the year of 2016, things I wish i could carry  with me. (like never removing the name tag)  this quote from President Dieter F. Uchtdorf  is always applicable

“In light of what we know about our eternal destiny, is it any wonder that whenever we face the bitter endings of life, they seem unacceptable to us? There seems to be something inside of us that resists endings.
Why is this? Because we are made of the stuff of eternity. We are eternal beings, children of the Almighty God, whose name is Endless and who promises eternal blessings without number. Endings are not our destiny. The more we learn about the gospel of Jesus Christ, the more we realize that endings here in mortality are not endings at all. They are merely interruptions—temporary pauses that one day will seem small compared to the eternal joy awaiting the faithful.
How grateful I am to my Heavenly Father that in His plan there are no true endings, only everlasting beginnings.” 

Leaving behind the things of 2016, isn’t leaving their impact on me, or the things I have learnt, it is taking them to create more, to become more in this new Beginning.
However of course new beginnings, change, repentance, and fresh starts aren’t a once off act. They are thousands of choices and actions we make every day, every hour and every minute of our lives.
we may fall down, we may not see perfect success in everything straight way. In fact rarely ever do we success immediately. Because this is not often how we learn. we develop skills and talents as we try and at first we don’t succeed,so we try again. We learn solutions, where we went wrong, how to improve here a little and there a little. As we rely upon the Lord until eventually we succeed. The success is all the more brilliant and encouraging. We learn the importance of enduring and always putting our best effort in. We learn how to fall down and pick up the pieces, to create out of ashes. We build our characters, because the Lord allows us to do so. He strengthens us and blesses us through all things, however we wont do it all for us, patiently He guides us. Tells us options, gives us freedom to act and to learn for ourselves.
We make mistakes, we trip up, we fall down… and sometimes it takes a while to pick up the pieces, or to even recognize we are face first  in the mud.  That maybe we of our own will chose the wrong path, and ventured away from the Iron Rod. But hope is never lost. He never left that spot, He stands and waits for you to call out and ask, and He will bring you back, and move forward, leaving it behind you.  We Just need to trust in Him.
To trust in the Atonement of Jesus Christ, that it is able to cleanse of all sin, to strengthen in your weaknesses. To reach beyond that which we are able on our own.

So going in to 2017, I am excited. To see what blessing and trials will come my way, to serve though around me and to set goals. My Resolution for this year is to set goals, monthly, weekly, daily, and even hourly when needed. To not try pile all my faults in one task to achieve, but to turn to the Lord and ask the important question “what lack I yet ?”
Then to take the things He reveals unto me and focus on them, to slowly overtime improve. To work on the things that matter most. To be aware of where I am and take inventory with myself. with those I love and focus on improving, to fulfill all that the Lord may require of us!

I pray that we may all be able to enter this new year with a sense of hope for the future, that we may focus on the things that matter most. Making 2017 a year that is worth remembering!

I love you all, thank you for sticking with me

~ C.A Priston-Turner  xx

Leave a Reply

